It’s not.

It *could* (perhaps) be said to be a mistake, but that doesn’t make it clear and obvious. Had he been on-side no problem. Had he been slightly to the side, also no problem. But he was in front of the keeper, and in an offside position, so by a strict definition of the rule, it’s no goal and they were correct. Had the on-field officials let it stand, VAR quite likely might* have upheld it. In my opinion, anyway.

*Totally conjecture on my part, I admit.

Posted By: APB on August 29th 2021 at 20:42:52


Message Thread


Reply to Message

In order to add a post to the WotB Message Board you must be a registered WotB user.

If you are not yet registered then please visit the registration page. You should ensure that their browser is setup to accept cookies.

Log in